Two Ton Beauty Queen

This story really gets under my skin:

A US beauty contest winner who claimed she was stripped of her crown because she had gained weight has won her courtroom fight to regain the title.

Seventeen-year-old Domonique Ramirez claimed pageant officials in Texas had told her to “get off the tacos”.

Organisers of the Miss San Antonio contest said she was dismissed because she had breached her contract.

After nearly 12 hours of deliberation, jurors in Bexar County, Texas, ruled in favour of Ms Ramirez.

Judge Barbara Nellermoe said she didn’t “have any choice but to reinstate Domonique Ramirez as Miss San Antonio 2011″.

Junk food”This is about principle, this is about what’s right,” the 5ft 8in (173cm), 129lb (58.5kg) Ms Ramirez said after the verdict on Thursday.

Organisers took away the teenager’s crown in January, saying she had arrived late to events and failed to conduct herself in a way befitting a beauty queen.

During the week-long trial, pageant director Linda Woods said the teenager had turned up to a bikini shoot overweight, making the pictures “unusable”.

Ms Ramirez told the court that pageant bosses had said she “needed to lay off the tacos and the junk food”.

Ms Woods described the verdict as an “injustice for the city of San Antonio”.

Jury foreman Jesse Sanchez told the local newspaper, the Express-News, that the verdict was a “a hard decision”. She declined to divulge what damages and fees were awarded to Ms Ramirez.

Now that she has her title back, Ms Ramirez is eligible to compete for the titles of Miss Texas and Miss America.

But, one complication remains. During her dismissal period, another Miss San Antonio, Ashley Dixon, was crowned.

“I don’t plan on taking the crown away from Ashley. I’m hoping that we’ll be able to share and she can go to Miss Texas as well as Miss Bexar County, and we can both share the crown,” Ms Ramirez said.

Source

My own personal tastes are that I prefer a rubenesque woman.  What they call “overweight”, I will personally think of as “Quick!!! Give her a hamburger before she starves!!!”  Beauty is a matter of personal taste.

But, while we are on the topic of taste, it is in incredibly poor taste to allow the message of “The beauty queen is being fired because she was too fat.”  What??? Are they saying that being heavy is being ugly?  Can a larger woman not be beautiful?

Take the comments made about Kirstie Alley by George Lopez:

“She did a nice job, her little hooves tapping away,” Lopez said of Alley.

“Before the show, she went to the market, and then she had roast beef and this is her going all the way home,” he continued, cutting to a clip of a pig screaming “weee!”

That is funny?   Normally, Lopez makes my side hurt from hearing him.  But this….this is what is considered comedy?  To poke fun at a woman, who at the age of 60, was able to get up there and put on a very sexy and entertaining routine (I watched it on YouTube)?

To Ms. Alley’s credit, she knocked it out of the park with an equally unclassy retort (which, in this instance, I applaud…despite knowing kidney donors and recipients):

“@georgelopez, I don’t need or want ur apology…I want your kidney dude..on behalf of ur X and all the women uv insulted…give it back,” she tweeted.

“I don’t consider ‘I misjudged the joke’ an apology,” she went on, after retweeting some encouragement and support from her followers. “Sorta like a husband saying ‘I misjudged putting my dick in a whore’…sorry hon..hehe.”

Of course, we could add reams and reams of information about how “thin is in” is shoved down the throats of our wives, mothers, and daughters from the earliest age.  It has become a cultural meme, with little in the way of healthy body image coming to even the thinnest and most beautiful women (my wife always laments her desire to lose weight, despite my insistance that no changes to her body be made.

Now, I cannot say for sure…but I would bet that a little more pudge is welcome by most of my fellow Texans.  Tortilla’s, Spanish Rice, and Refried Beans are not the most slimming of foods.  To be honest, on a hot summer day it can be downright painful for me to travel to the grocery store as the beauty of our ladies trying not to spill out of their warm weather attire is excruciating.

And that makes me seriously doubt the following comment, taken from the above story:

Ms Woods described the verdict as an “injustice for the city of San Antonio”.

No ma’am.  It was exactly justice, meted out by 12 jurors selected from the City of San Antonio.  The People spoke, thankfully, and I believe that they have the right idea here.

5 Responses to “Two Ton Beauty Queen”

  1. Truly adore your blog and your Bigfatfurrytexas perspective. 🙂 Was very disapointed to find you had only tweeted on test tweet. lol

    • Y’know, twitter is a habit that I have really picked up. Throughout my day i hear things that evoke passion. I have a lot to say (although, admittedly, not much of it worthy of hearing) about things, and I often forget about them before i can write a blog entry for it. This particular entry results from how pissed I was at hearing about the Miss Teen story yesterday, combined with the comments that Lopez made.

      Perhaps with a more active Twitter account I could have a “whiteboard” to help me focus?

      I guess the next part is finguring out how to activate the Twitter option on my phone, huh?

      BTW, I tried to check out your blog, but was not allowed as it is set to private. So instead of commenting on your site, I will comment on how cool the name Elizabeth is. Kudo’s! LOL

  2. Yeah, a few bloggers, yourself included, inspired me to start my own. It’s still incubating. lol Someday I’ll throw the doors open and invite everyone in for coffee and chat. I’m a Texan myself, btw. 🙂

    I swore I’d never twitter and certainly never ever face book,,, ever! lol Then a few months ago I wanted to reply to some political commentary on twitter, so got myself an account and have not regretted it. I still have absolutely no use for FB and plan on keeping it that way. lol

    I couldn’t agree more with you on the Miss teen story. I’m glad it turned out in her favor.

  3. Ohhh an ty for the compliment 🙂 Mary Elizabeth is my full name. Seems a bit much. Family and some friends call me Beth. That was my childhood nickname. When I turned 25, I decided it was a slave name and juvenile, so put myself out there as Elizabeth, but the last few years, (46 now) I’ve come to appreciate the youthful efficiency of it. lol

    • i noticed….Seguin. I am a HUGE fan of the SA and New Braunfels area. We go several times a year (love the concerts down at the Sunken Gardens, not to mention Schlitterbahn). My best friend lives down there, and there are some friends through him that live out towards Seguin that we will sometimes go visit.

      I don’t FB. I may end up having to for my new job (i am starting a marketing/sales job, mostly for the challenge of learning another industry). Twitter seems to add for me….until you encouraged me to look at it again. I think it may be just want i need, especially as a “whiteboard” for my thoughts.

      Thanks for coming around. when you open your blog, send me a notice.

Leave a Reply

