On Being Strange

Throughout my life, like many people, I have had this uncanny feeling that I just don’t belong.  Don’t belong in whatever social grouping I am in, don’t belong in the job I have, and don’t belong on this planet in general.

I think differently.  Not that it is superior or in any way better.  Just different.  I have perspectives that many just shake their respective heads at, chalking it up to me just being “different”.

But as it turns out, perhaps I am not so strange.  I came across the following quote, from Pythagoras, and contemplated it a little:

There are gods and there are men.  Then there are beings such as Pythagoras

After my contemplation, I did some searching to see what others had thought about the above quote from the great Pythagoras.  As it turns out, my contemplations seem to be quite distant from those of others.  Of course, this is normal for me, as my perspectives generally do tend to be from completely different angles.

The typical belief is that Pythagoras considered himself to be some sort of god, or demigod.  And this may be true.  However, the result of my own meditations on the above is thus:  Pythagoras is acknowledging that he is different.  Strange.  Has different perspectives.

He was the first man to use the term “philosopher”.  And he truly believed himself to be “one who seeks knowledge”.  His search yielded world changing insights as well.  However, as it pertains to the above quote it would seem that he is acknowledging that there are gods (beings who know it all), men (ignorant beings who think they know it all), and then philosophers (beings who acknowledge their own ignorance, and then seek to rectify it).

I would never think to compare myself with such a great man, as I am but a mere shadow.  But regardless, I realize that I am one of those beings such as Pythagoras.  I detest, yet acknowledge my own ignorance.  And then I seek to rectify it.

So strange men of the world, take comfort.  You are strange for a reason.  You are no aberration, and instead represent a separate facet of humanity, the inquisitive ones.  And, like on a gem, being a different facet just gives you a different perspective.

Besides, as I have mentioned lately, entropy is the law of the universe.  Our behaviors must follow these laws.  While I have always taken great pains to “fit in”, I have come to realize that my inability to “fit in” is just the universe working through me.  Like mindedness is an aberration, as it denotes a strict order in mindset.

And on this meditation, it has occured to me that men, or humanity, tends to mimic.  It is why we have such meaningless things as fashion and pop culture.  This is the “groupthink” that mankind seems to proficient at.  This is what men are, what men do.

Beings such as Pythagoras, on the other hand, represent the universal law of entropy.  We seek to bring disorder, to incite original thought and kill the hive mindset.  It is the whole juxtaposition of Individualism and Collectivism.

3 Responses to “On Being Strange”

  1. James H Hart Says:

    Living today is to remember tomorrow

  2. No one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low.
    That is you can’t you know tune in but it’s all right.
    That is I think it’s not too bad.
    Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see.
    It’s getting hard to be someone but it all works out.
    It doesn’t matter much to me.
    Always know sometimes think it’s me, but you know I know and it’s a dream.
    I think I know of thee, ah yes, but it’s all wrong.
    That is I think I disagree. – John Lennon – Strawberry Fields Forever

    Lots of us, Strange Beings, out here.

Leave a Reply

