Musings On A Death Cult

Today I had the pleasure of attending a Catholic church for a wedding service.  In all honesty, it was a pure honor to celebrate my in law’s 45th wedding anniversary with a renewal of their vows.  They are such simple and beautiful people.  And despite this simplicity, my mother in law has this astounding elegance and beauty about her, despite a life of raising 5 kids and working very hard in what is typically a low paying job.

And this isn’t my first foray into a Catholic church, obviously as I am married to a Latina (herself, stunningly beautiful) for the last 17 years.  So much of what I realize is nothing new, only applied into a context that is more friendly for a blog.

I have spent several years studying esoteric arts, understanding esoteric thought, and applying it in my daily life.  The symbolism seen in all religions is of great interest to me, and I have become pretty well versed in a very wide variety of religious and spiritual belief systems both current and extinct.

What struck me today was that first, the altar looks exactly like a sarcophagus.  Looking at the beautiful green marble, it appears to be of the dimensions of the sarcophagus in the Kings Chamber of the Great Pyramid.  Of course, this is only enhanced by the statue hanging on the wall behind the altar depicting a man (Christ) suffering horribly, dying, while being nailed to a cross.

Being a Catholic wedding, there was a communion.  That time during the service where symbolic cannibalism happens.  And once the Catholic followers have finished pretending to eat the corpse of a dead man, and drink his blood, they thank the chef and return to their seats.

This just seems to bizarre.  Of course, I have grown up as a Christian and around Christians.  So it isn’t that I am unfamiliar with it.  It is just that I cannot comprehend how people can separate their religion in their minds from all other forms of logic used.  No one stops to ask themselves WHY they are taking part in a symbolic ritual cannibalistic act.  Or why they spend their time focusing on the suffering and death of a man who, by all obvious accounts, was among the most gifted minds in mans history.

He lived 33 some odd years (if you believe the Bible, however note that the number 33 is a “holy” number that predates Christ by centuries, and is in my humble opinion a number chosen for Christ because of what 33 represents in esoteric teachings).  During that 33 years he gained the admiration of common men, the meek who are destined to inherit the Earth.  Yet, despite his great life, the central theme of the vast majority of Christian doctrine is the symbol of his death:  the cross (again, a symbol with deep meaning predating Christ by centuries, and considered “holy” long before him).

It just seems that otherwise rational men and women fail to apply their skills of rationale and reasoning to this all too important topic.

2 Responses to “Musings On A Death Cult”

  1. I attended a catholic wedding earlier in the year, and I noted the same things you mentioned.

    I was a raised in and around christianity, but abandoned it after witnessing things within the church I did not agree with. The symbolism of consuming the body and drinking the blood has always bothered me.

    I have just recently begun to embrace my spirituality again, not through religion, but I suppose through an array of teachings.

    Interesting post there. I am glad to see others relate to the underlying messages in the symbolism of tradition.

    • There is a whole host of material on symbolism in religion. I heartily recommend “The Secret Teachings Of All Ages” by Manly P Hall. It is a good overview of esoteric symbolism from across time and culture.

      Good luck with your search. For a wise person, it lasts a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

