Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread

Being a low carber, I often wish I had a bread type food to eat at meals.  Or a porridge type grain I could use to make something like Malt-O-Meal, or Polenta/grits.  Enter the low carb savior, flax.

Make sure you buy flax meal, not flax seed.  If you get seed, it needs to be ground into a flour (coffee grinder works, from what I understand).  The end result is an awful lot like cornbread, but I see some serious potential here for some real mad science.  To make Flax “Focacia” Bread:

Preheat oven to 350

Lay foil out in a shallow baking dish (small, like 7X9) and spray with cooking spray

Mix dry ingredients:

–  2 cups flax meal

–  1 tblsp baking powder

– 1 tblsp salt

– 3 tblsp Splenda

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 2 tbslp onion powder

In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients:

– 1/3 cup oil

–  1/2 cup water

– 4 large eggs, beaten well

–  2 tblsp freshly minced garlic

 

Mix wet and dry ingredients together, let sit for 5 mins (so it can begin to rise a little).  Spread into baking sheet and bake for 15-20 mins (until it is done).

 

After following the above recipe, I figured I could probably substitute 1/2 cup butter for the 1/3 cup oil (butter tastes better), and I could add in cheese.  I likely could make a decent imitation of the Red Lobster cheese rolls.

I am also thinking that mixing in blueberries would make a nice muffin.

This weekend I will use this bread mix, and thin it out a little with heavy cream before making pancakes from it.  I will definitly report back the results.

As far as the results of this bread….it isn’t bad at all.  It would be better if i would have served it hot.  Time didn’t permit that tonight, though.  Next time.  Regardless, I have some left over, which I plan to repurpose for a breakfast in the morning.  Going to split on, and use it to hold an egg and ham sandwich.

Leave a Reply

