Low Carb Banana Nut Bread

NOTE:  I have recently read information relating to the sugar alcohols I discuss in this post.  In short, some sugar alcohols, like Xylitol, are no better than sugar (especially Malitol).  For more information, which is important to low carb dieting, please read the following article to apply context to the recipes below:
Sugar Alcohols Post

 

This will absolutely knock your socks off.  I promise you this.  Even my very, very hard to convince wife was overjoyed that I provided her a favorite dessert/breakfast cake that was delicious enough to want to eat when not on a diet.  And, if you are an Atkins follower, this is induction friendly:

Ingredients

1 stick of butter

1 cup xylitol (or erythritol)

1 cup Splenda (get the one that is with fiber, to net zero carbs)

1 cup almond flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 tbl vanilla

1 tbl banana extract

1 cup walnuts

1/3 cup heavy cream

2/3 cup water

4 eggs

2 cups flax meal

Process:

Preheat the over to 350

In a bowl cream together the softened butter, splenda, and xylitol (make sure that whichever you use, it equates to 2 cups sugar in sweetening strength).   Blend in the cream into the mixture, along with the water, vanilla extract, banana extract,  and eggs.  Once you have it nicely mixed, begin adding in the almond flour, the walnuts, and all other ingredients except the baking powder.  The baking powder will be added right before you put the mixture into the baking pan.

In your baking pan, line it with parchment.  This will make removal of the cake a whole lot easier.  Add in the baking soda, mix well, then put the batter into the parchment lined pan. Set aside for 10 minutes to allow it to “rise” a little.   Bake for about 30 mins, but you will need to adjust based on your pan, oven, and location.  Generally, if it looks done on top, smells done, and feels firm, it is done.

Slice into 12 squares, totaling only 1.5g of carbs each.

I would recommend slicing about 10 mins after coming out of the oven, but not eating until they have cooled.  I would also recommend letting the edges of the cake brown a little bit before pulling out of the oven (if you use xylitol), as it will make a wonderfully chewy/crispy crust.

Topping Ideas

– blend half stick of butter with 1/2 tsp vanilla and 2 tbl zero carb sweetener, spread onto cakes

–  use 1 cup heavy cream, 1/4 cup zero carb sweetener, and whip into whipping cream.

6 Responses to “Low Carb Banana Nut Bread”

  1. What brand of banana extract do you use? Every single one I have tried has tasted completely artificial.

  2. I used Watkins. I have no idea if it is better or worse than others you have used. However, I will tell you this: when pouring it it smells like the crappy banana flavored snow cones. I was not expecting much from the final result (especailly since banana isn’t one of my favorite flavors to begin with).

    The trick is to balance any flavor you have into the whole mixture. I suppose you could add a BUNCH of banana extract to get that whole Emeril “kicked up” effect. But it will taste bad then. It isn’t like real bananas (which ae hugely high carb) and “more is better” just doesn’t work.

    When you add the tablespoon of banana make sure you equal it with a tablespoon of vanilla. That will provide a balanced flavor in the mixture. And the xylotol sweetener makes the crust kind of crispy/chewy. Textured like real sugar would do.

    If you come back and read this, try the recipe. Tell us all your results. My saying “its good” is highly subjective. 🙂

    • I don’t think Watkins makes banana extract any more; in fact, I don’t think you can find Watkins in grocery stores any longer – I think it’s only available by mail order.

      The last banana extract I tried was Frontier, a natural brand, hoping for the best, since their hazelnut extract is extraordinary. But their banana was as nasty as all of the others I have tried – and yes, I did balance the flavor with vanilla extract.

      I understand that in ester chemistry, banana flavor is very elusive and difficult to replicate, but I haven’t given up yet.

      • I haven’t seen Watkins in about 2 months, but I haven’t shopped for extract since then (the last bottle was bought by another member of my household, and was McCormick).

        Taste is interpretive and subjective. I am usually a “food snob”, and my wife is just plain finnicky. So I use our combined opinion as a barometer for the public. 🙂

        I have used some syrups, too (DaVinci and Torani). They aren’t bad, but i like extracts for baking).

  3. RAW FOOD IS FULL OF ENZYMES FIBER AND LIVING ENERGY, COOKED FOOD IS DEAD FOOD. LIFE OR DEATH? YOU DECIDE.

    • well….

      with flax, if you don’t cook it you don’t destroy possible toxins. Many foods are this way. As well, many foods require heat to create the positive ingredients via chemical process.

      I would say that, based on my own research, what you claim is basically complete and utter BS. BUt eat your raw food if you like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

