Its Not In My Job Description

So, I am sure everyone has heard of this story:

Jeff Ellis told CNN’s “Erin Burnett OutFront” on Thursday evening that he didn’t approve of the decision to fire Lopez.

 

“Clearly, he should not have been terminated for what had occurred,” Ellis said. “I know that he has tried to do the right thing.”

 

Three other lifeguards quit in protest and two others were dismissed after saying they would have acted as Lopez did.

 

“They told us we would be liabilities and we had to be let go,” lifeguard Travis Madrid told CNN.

 

We have a young man who saw another human who was in dire need, mortal need, and he went to render aid (as is his job duty).  Why was he fired?  For attending to someone outside of the area he was assigned to.  Actually, Jeff Ellis has said it was an insurance risk to conduct operations outside of the insured area.  And, that is fair enough.  But do you really  put a human life at risk to avoid insurance risk?

And, do you really fire a kid for working in an area outside his own to save a human life?  Are there not extenuating circumstances?

This is what drives me nuts about being an employer.  When someone tells me “Its not my job”, I literally lose it.  I point out that anything that seems logical is “their job”.  Your job, for any employer, is to advance that employers interests and ability to generate revenue.  Even something as simple as picking up a piece of trash from the gutter in front of your place of business.  It makes your place of business more attractive, and makes it more profitable.

Jeff Ellis Management, on the other hand, is reinforcing a horrible habit.  They are telling their employees that open thought is not allowed.  That you put your nose in the Employee Handbook, shut up, and toe the line.  This, my friends, is not the kind of employees I want.  I don’t want docile sheep who are unable to think for themselves.  A triple PhD in mathematics does you no good if you are unable to chew gum without biting off your own tongue.

Readers, break this cycle of distant, cold treatment of one another.  Restore the American principle of smart business, not cattle herding management.  Encourage your friends, family, coworkers, and employees to do that extra “value add” task, even if it isn’t in their job description. 

I know your union workers will disagree with me on this.  And to that I say, “You stupid sheep, don’t you realize you could be so much MORE than your narrow job description?”

 

 

4 Responses to “Its Not In My Job Description”

  1. Thank you. Well said, sir, well said.

    • I told my boss today that the only thing that I foresee that would cause me to slap an employee would be them telling me “its not MY job” at a bad moment. We laughed…but I am not too sure I was kidding. After putting down 12 hour days trying to nurse your business, you start taking it personally.

  2. BFFT – I can totally agree with that. I am an independent contractor and I know my bread and butter is in the details that makes the business I work for/with look better. One of my colleagues was a proverbial good-ol’-boy, arrogant, self-righteous dude who kept getting in trouble for being a condescending, sexist twit and refusing to adapt to the new workplace. He told me when he got in trouble the last time before he was asked to leave the company that he simply would continue what he was doing, as he had been doing it, because it wasn’t his job to coddle or be reasonably well-behaved because he was simply providing a specialized service… which apparently wasn’t enough.

    See you about ATS!

Leave a Reply

